January 2011 Reads

Well. January 2011 was not a bad month for reading [and blogging] — here’s hoping that the rest of the year will bring with it as much book-dorkery as this month has, if better. So. This is what I read, and hello there, 2011:

  1. The Bookshop, by Penelope Fitzgerald.
  2. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, by Anne Brontë.
  3. Too Much Happiness, by Alice Munro.
  4. How to Be Alone, by Jonathan Franzen.
  5. Memoirs of Hecate County, by Edmund Wilson.
  6. Invisible, by Paul Auster.
  7. Liberal Chronicles: 60 Years of the Liberal Party 1946-2006, edited by Jonathan E. Malaya and Florencio B. Abad.
  8. The Sound on the Page, by Ben Yagoda.
  9. The Enchantment of Lily Dahl, by Siri Hustvedt.
  10. Grief Lessons, by Euripedes; trans. Anne Carson.
  11. A History of Reading, by Alberto Manguel.
  12. The Mark on the Wall, by Virginia Woolf.
  13. The Road, by Cormac McCarthy.
  14. The Furies, by Janet Hobhouse.
  15. The Yellow Wall-Paper and Other Stories, by Charlotte Perkins Gilman.

My definite favorites are #02, #03, #05, #06, #10, #11, #12, #14. Good lord, that is a lot of favorites, haha. Please do not make me choose.

Miscellany: This month, I got ready, in earnest, for the Classics Project 2011. I also wrote up some plans for the year ahead, and gave you my book haul, which delightfully arms me for the reading days to come.] And, in a post I very much enjoyed writing, a “defense” of Jane Eyre — Sasha takes umbrage, delish.

That is all for now. Happy days, all of you, full of reading and cheer and brownies. As always, you have been awesome to me, dear friends from far far away [with books on your laps, I am sure, as you read this].

3 comments

  1. An impressive list! I am too hot to read anything. My iPhone tells me that it is 39C today and I can feel every degree!

  2. Jennifer · · Reply

    January 2011 was not a bad month for reading [and blogging]
    It wasn’t at all! I enjoyed reading your posts. Looking forward to more in the future. :)

  3. Gah! Crazy!

Comments?

