September 2010 Reads: A Whole Month of Short Fiction

A month of short stories. Well. I’m kinda proud of myself. Books that have been untouched on my TBR forever, books I abandoned a few years ago, new titles, classics titles, books I wanted to get out of the way. A month with my favorite genre. It wasn’t as static an experience as I’d figured on weak moments — there were verra long stories here for when I needed a novel-esque fix, for example. And I tried to shake up the reading sequence so a] I wouldn’t mix them up, b] I needed some kind of mixing up.

Mmm, short fiction diet. Illuminating re my own writing, occasionally disastrous to my self-esteem. Oh well.

So. Here’s what I read this month of September [links lead to my thoughts on ze book]:

  1. The Cabal and Other Stories, by Ellen Gilchrist.
  2. Both Ways Is the Only Way I Want It, by Maile Meloy.
  3. Samuel Johnson Is Indignant, by Lydia Davis.
  4. Dimanche and Other Stories, by Irène Némirovsky.
  5. The New York Stories of Elizabeth Hardwick.
  6. Magic for Beginners, by Kelly Link.
  7. Everything Here Is te Best Thing Ever, by Justin Taylor.
  8. How We Are Hungry, by Dave Eggers.
  9. What He’s Poised to Do, by Ben Greenman.
  10. Don’t Look Now, by Daphne du Maurier.
  11. Girl Trouble, by Holly Goddard Jones.

Favorites: [2] [5] [9] [10] — All of these, incidentally, are my first reads of the author’s work. I fell in love with a lot of their short stories, I wanted to steal a lot of their short stories, and I basically can’t wait to read more of their short stories. Or novels.

Miscellany: Me, all a-giddy about the “About the Author” pages, and discovering real-life connections of literary loves. Also, this month, this book blog turned a year old. Wee.

This September, I also, well, went through a little blogging crisis. Or, simply, lazy / restless blogger. Not because of the books, mind you — the reading was, and always will be in SashaLand, rather wonderful. But the book-blog aspect of things, I’m going to have to rethink certain things. We’ll see where this takes us. [That said, let me link you to Iris, partner in restlessness, and Kirsty, who’s back, and with a rallying cry.]

Have a great October, lovelies. And for mutual sanity, I’m going start reading novels again, haha.

3 comments

  1. Yes, I think reading novels again is probably a good idea. I have a really hard time reading just short stories. I want something I can sink in to. Of course, this week I have a bit of novel-reading ADD, but we won’t talk about that…

  2. Am excited to find out where you plan to go next with the blog. I think you should let yourself just read (without feeling the need to post for each title) for a while!

    1. I’ve found it a struggle, surprisingly enough. There are books I don’t care to write about. And then there are books that are so earth-shaking but I can’t write about them even if I wanted to (because I’m unable to). It’s strange, this blogging slump-of-sorts.

Comments?

