June 2010 Reads

I went AWOL, an unforeseen break not only from blogging but the entire intershmertz. Even reading. Because sometimes, well, sometimes real life calls, and you’re all too glad to put the book down to scurry along. And sometimes, well, sometimes your laptop just conks out and your gleefully back in the Dark Ages. Da-dum. Anyway. Here are the books I read for the month of June:

  1. Darkness Visible: A Memoir of Madness, by William Styron.
  2. Light Boxes, by Shane Jones.
  3. The Elegance of the Hedgehog, by Muriel Barbery.
  4. Becoming Jane Eyre, by Sheila Kohler.
  5. Theft: A Love Story, by Peter Carey.
  6. Skylark, by Dezsö Kosztolányi.
  7. What I Loved, by Siri Hustvedt.
  8. We Need to Talk About Kevin, by Lionel Shriver.
  9. Looking for Alaska, by John Green.
  10. The Art of Racing in the Rain, by Garth Stein.
  11. The Glass Castle, by Jeannette Walls.
  12. The Architecture of Happiness, by Alain de Botton.
  13. The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox, by Maggie O’Farrell.
  14. To Catch a Highlander, by Karen Hawkins.
  15. Tumbling Through Time, by Gwyn Cready.
  16. The Dogs of Babel, by Carolyn Parkhurst.

Favorites: [1] [3] [6] [7] [8] [9] [11].

Elsewhere, Miscellany: [1] I reviewed A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore, and Lydia Davis’ short story collection Break It Down for Metakritiko. [2] Added several new books to the TBR Land Mass, effectively confirming that I have no resolve whatsoever when it comes to book bans. I think I barely lasted a week? Huh. [3] Also, posted thoughts (and pictures!) on my experience with Leo Tolstoy’s What Is Art? [4] Imagined the previous life of one BookSale-bought book. [5] Confessed that I read for other people.

That is all for now. I’ll be back in fighting form in a few days. I have resolved to relax for a bit, with the blog, with the reading, with life in general. Not making this a big deal — but I have gotten an email from a lurker who’s wondered why I dropped off the face of the earth. Do I update this blog that maniacally? Hee. [To those who have emailed and commented, I’ll be responding at the soonest!]

Have a great July, kids. Happy summer, Western Hemisphere. People in my part of the world, keep them umbrellas handy. Me, I’m going back to bed.

12 comments

  1. You’re my hero. I wish I could read that quickly!

    1. Thank you, Jordan. :) I tend to ignore most of real life just to read though, haha.

  2. You scored some great books in June! I’d read only one but want to read a bunch of others. Have a grand-er July!

    1. Thank you, Claire! :) Some of these were disappointments too, of course, but many were so great I can’t talk about them properly even now. And right back at you, re July. :)

  3. (I meant I had read only one of those books on your stack. Not that I’d read only one book in June. That would be such a sorry thought.. lol.)

    1. It’s Muriel Barbery’s book, if I remember correctly. Both of us, charmed despite the pretentiousness, haha. Or rather, maybe because of the pretentiousness? :]

  4. You have managed to read a lot of books, especially considering that you called it a bad month.

    1. It wasn’t a bad month, but I did find a handful of books disappointing in their meh-ness. :) All in all, I like the books I read, liked the month that passed by.

  5. selena · · Reply

    Glad to hear that you’re back!

    As for the Western Hemisphere having a good summer…. Pfft, Seattle :(

    I’ll be joining you in the umbrella holding.

    1. In my opinion, the remedy for a rainy day is to, well, stay inside and under the covers with a book, haha.

  6. Ooh, I loved We Need To Talk About Kevin. And, only recently someone recommended The Glass Castle to me.

    I’m still not sure about Peter Carey, and might hold off a bit before I venture near one of his books again – although I do have Kelly Gang on my shelf at the moment. My Life As A Fake annoyed me no end…

    1. I’ve read only two books by Lionel Shriver before I read Kevin, but I already loved her. But after Kevin: It was just Whoa. Shriver knows where to make it hurt, and she does it so well, too. And I hope you’ll give Jeannette Walls a try. It’s a different kind of family, concepts, questions. But as compelling.

      As for Peter Carey, although I loved Theft, I’m aware that I need another read of it for me to decide whether I categorically like it or not, haha. I do want to read Oscar and Lucinda, though.

Comments?

