May 2010 Reads

I loved May a lot. A lot, I tell you. It was Short Story Month 2010 in the intarwebz, and since short fiction holds a special place in my heart, I had to celebrate. I read a total of seven short story collection, and most of them were awesome. I read a lot of new-to-me authors, tried to vanquish Literary Icons, fell in love all over again with a childhood favorite. Yep, loved May a lot. Best reading month so far, me thinks. Also, out 20 books, I only really loathed 1, felt Meh about 2 or 3. Not bad, right? Anyways. So. Here it is:

  1. Crazy Heart, by Thomas Cobb.
  2. The World is the Home of Love and Death, by Harold Brodkey.
  3. Open Secrets, by Alice Munro.
  4. Mouse Guard: Fall 1152, by David Petersen.
  5. A Gate at the Stairs, by Lorrie Moore.
  6. The Brutal Language of Love, by Alicia Erian.
  7. The Whole Story and Other Stories, by Ali Smith.
  8. Ilustrado, by Miguel Syjuco.
  9. Break It Down, by Lydia Davis.
  10. The Duke of Shadows, by Meredith Duran.
  11. Legend of a Suicide, by David Vann.
  12. Everything Is Wrong with Me, by Jason Mulgrew.
  13. Firmin, by Sam Savage.
  14. If You Follow Me, by Malena Watrous.
  15. Possession, by A.S. Byatt.
  16. There Once Lived A Woman Who Tried to Kill Her Neighbor’s Baby: Scary Fairy Tales, by Ludmilla Petrushevskaya.
  17. Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Brontë. [Part 01] [Part 02] [Part 03]
  18. The Secret Lives of People in Love, by Simon Van Booy.
  19. On Folly Beach, by Karen White.
  20. Reading, Writing, and Leaving Home: Life on the Page, by Lynn Freed.

So, my favorites, haha. Here goes: [#01], [#02] [#05] [#09] [#11] [#13] [#14] [#16] [#17]. That’s a hell of a lot of favorites, I know, and a lot of them might just make it to my Best-Of year-ender. Yes, May, I like you. You so rocked.

Pending Shiz: Reviews of A Gate at the Stairs [Lorrie Moore], Break It Down [Lydia Davis], and The Secret Lives of People in Love [Simon Van Booy] shall be posted at a later date. Well, they’re going to be published elsewhere [wee!] and I’ll be sure to link you that. Also, the continuation of the Rereading Jane Eyre series–two posts left: a wrap-up post here, and an essay called “Edward Fairfax Rochester: The First Man I Ever Loved,” also to be published elsewhere. Updates are promised!

Thanks for sticking with me this long, kids. Hope you had a great May too, and here’s to a kick-ass June.

16 comments

  1. I had a lot of great reads in May too: nice when they come together like that. I really do need to make more time for short stories: your list is inspiring!

    1. Thank you so much. Your Russian Romp was far more impressive, haha. Even now, I shiver about Tolstoy. ;p Anyhoo–May’s been the best reading month, overall. I think it also has to do with the fact that I’ve just been so excited about reading lately. :)

  2. Like you, I read A Gate At The Stairs as well. I loved Munro’s Runaway, so I’d love to read Open Secrets. Firmin’s on my TBR as well.

    And I guess I’ll have to read Jane Eyre one day. Haven’t yet….

    Looks like you had a fantastic month!

    1. I really did, it’s equal parts thrilling, and a relief. :) Oh, and I actually just acquired Sam Savage’s other book, Cry of the Sloth, so excited for that too. :)

  3. Numbers wise my May kind of sucked, but towards the end I got in quite a few good books. Glad you had such a good month!

    1. Thanks, Ash. Here’s to June! :)

  4. I can only dream to read this many books in one month! :) I was gonna tell you when I saw your Jane Eyre posts that I’m going to read it sometime this year. It’s somewhere there in the schedule! :D I’m skipping your Jane Eyre posts for now but I’ll be back. And another thing, I went to a library book giveaway last week and found Harold Brodkey’s collection First Love and Other Sorrows. For free! Weee!

    1. I would have been incredibly jealous–as in frothing at the mouth jealous–but thank god I have a copy of that coming, hahaha. I wouldn’t have like myself then, hee. So, well, YAY CONGRATULATIONS. :) So thrilled for you, for us. [I think you’re the only other blogger I know who reads/has read Brodkey, and felt enough about it to talk about it.

      I read a lot partly because I’ve been so guilty of having “too many” books. ;p

  5. selena · · Reply

    That’s quite a haul! Looks like we both read the same Lydia Davis.

    Can’t wait to read your review!

    1. Hi, Selena — Thanks for dropping by. Difficult to write about Davis because all I want to do is, well, copy + paste her short stories in full, haha.

  6. I’m intrigued by #15, the fairy tales by Ludmilla P. and I loved your review of it. Which bookstore carries it? Fully, National or Power?

    1. I got it from National, the main branch at Cubao. :) But that was their last copy–and I went there this afternoon, and didn’t notice any other copy. I have faith in the bigger branches of FB & Powerbooks, though.

  7. Great stuff–just making my first stop by: wow, what a lot of books! Curious about what happened to the Yates crusade, and really enjoyed the birthday letter. Seems as if you haven’t read Easter Parade yet or Disturbing the Peace, but I haven’t read Young Heart myself. EP might be better than RR. Okay–going back to reading all the fascinating marinalia now…

    1. Thank you so much, Zhiv. I stalk your blog all the time, so welcome! :]

      The Yates Crusade–and oh, I like that name a lot, haha–is currently on hold, seeing as I don’t have any Richard Yates books at hand. The bookstores here only stock his Revolutionary Road, and only the movie version. I rely on secondhand bookstores to find Yates.

  8. Some great books here-have you read Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys yet?-it is beautifully written -it tells the story of the first wife of Mr Rochester-most people think Jean Rhys did not get Rochester right-I do not share that opinion but in any case you might like that book-I love it-I have seen it for sale in National Books Stores

    1. I read Wide Sargasso Sea about two years ago. And I remember I hated it, because I was so adamant at holding to my cherished image of Rochester, that I fought Rhys every page. But I’m willing to try it again, if only for the language. Or to see if I can separate my loyalties to Bronte from being able to judge Rhys’ book on its own. Or something. :]

Comments?

