book dump || You’ve Been A Very Very Bad Girl, Sasha – pt. 02

told you I’d be back. So. The stack here’s what I haven’t read. Not yet. Rest assured that I will read them soon. Also, expect that a handful of books shall be added to this pile because, man, Friday is YaySalary Day, which is also [evilly enough] the first day of a Fully Booked sale. Augh. Or yay. Aherm. So. Here goes:

  • Reading, Writing, and Leaving Home, by Lynn Freed.
  • It All Changed in An Instant: More Six-Word Memoirs.
  • The Secret Lives of People in Love, by Simon Van Booy.
  • On Folly Beach, by Karen White.
  • Housekeeping, by Marilynne Robinson.
  • The Passion of New Eve, by Angela Carter.
  • How We Are Hungry, by Dave Eggers.
  • We Need to Talk About Kevin, by Lionel Shriver.
  • The Last Station, by Jay Parini.
  • Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close, by Jonathan Safran Foer.
  • The Elegance of the Hedgehog, by Muriel Barbery.
  • How I Became a Famous Novelist, by Steve Hely.
  • Three Novels by Sarah Schulman.
  • Howard’s End, by E.M. Forster.
  • Mrs. Dalloway, by Virginia Woolf.
  • What I Loved, by Siri Hustvedt.
  • The Sorrows of an American, by Siri Hustvedt.
  • Columbine, by Dave Cullen.
  • Sarah Conley, by Ellen Gilchrist.

Notice that I haven’t been numbering these lists. Hee. [For the YayRead part of this bookstack, please go here. If you want to see how this book stack compares with gigantic moi, please head on over here.] Okay. Now. Thoughts, all, on ze books?

15 comments

  1. You have some really good books in your stack! The Shriver is great “can’t put it down” reading, as is the Safran Foer. And as you know, I recently read Howards End and liked it pretty well!

    1. Thanks, Steph. I love Lionel Shriver, and I figured it’s about time I read what people seem to think is her greatest work. Very very excited. :] Looking forward to settling down with Forster too–I think I’ll read this on a calm day. :) I’ve taken a peek, and I think I’d linger re the language. :)

  2. I also recommend the Safran Foer (although I have his other one in my TBR, still from xmas). And I haven’t read any Shriver, but I’m curious to find out what the all the fuss is about, so I’d be glad if you took that job on!

    Didn’t really love How We Are Hungry. The cover was cooler than the actual book.

    1. I’m trying to read Everything is Illuminated right now. “Trying” is the operative word, :p

      I’ve read Shriver–her The Post-Birthday World is one of my favorite novels–and it’s about time I read this one, I think.

      I’ve read three stories from the Eggers. Kind of underwhelmed, but I’m giving it a chance. Mostly because of that gorgeous cover. And I have a friend who swears by it. [Come to think of it, I have another friend who swears by Foer.] Hee.

  3. Very nice stack. Good stuff in there.

    I’m eager to hear what you think of my book, Columbine. Thanks for including it.

    1. Thanks for dropping by, Mr Cullen. I’m looking forward to reading your book, :) I’d bought it on impulse, actually, but I’m certain impulse will pay off.

  4. You have to read We Need To Talk About Kevin. It’s one of the most intriguing books I’ve ever read.

    1. I love Shriver, and it really is about time I read this. A lot of people have said it’s her greatest work so far.

  5. That is quite the load! I just recently went to the thrift stop and bought three books that I totally didn’t need but really wanted to read. What can I say? Cheers to being bad! ;)

    Lydia

    1. Hi, Lydia–thanks for dropping by! I’m not feeling any remorse at the moment–though that might change when a couple of months go by and I haven’t done any damage to the stack, haha. Hate it when that happens, this hoarding. :)

  6. Found Checker and the Derailleurs by Shriver at the UP main library when I was still a Philo undergrad. Made me shift to English. Heee.

    1. Haha, that’s wonderful. :) I haven’t read Checker, but I think I’ll eventually get to read all of Shriver’s books. :) Even if I don’t always love her stories, I love how she crafts them, especially her language.

  7. […] I know it hasn’t been that long since I put up not one, but two, Book Dump posts. Which points to a rather serious problem. Anyway, here they are–and I […]

  8. Ooh some still wrapped in plastic. I’d forgotten they did that. Miss the crunch associated with anticipation, but do not miss not being able to test the waters (by reading the first page). :D

    1. Haha, it could be annoying when I want to know what’s inside — but the O.C. in me loves the idea that virtually no one [or it looks like virtually no one] has held the book before my grimy hands got to it, haha.

Comments?

