book dump || From Petra’s Bookshelves

Drinking and happy times all-around with friends Petra and Manny at Petra’s porch. And the plan was, I was going to take home that Rivka Galchen novel with me. But of course not. Because Petra and I are dorks like that.

From the bottom, up:

  1. Wild Women: Contemporary Short Stories by Women Celebrating Women, edited by Sue Thomas.
  2. The Waves, by Virginia Woolf.
  3. What We Talk About When We Talk About Love, by Raymond Carver.
  4. Complete Short Stories of Graham Greene.
  5. The Married Man, by Edmund White.
  6. Sexing the Cherry, by Jeanette Winterson.
  7. Written on the Body, by Jeanette Winterson.
  8. Atmospheric Disturbances, by Rivka Galchen.
  9. Saturnalia: An Anthology of Bizarre Erotica, edited by Paul Scott.
  10. Birds of America: Stories, by Lorrie Moore.

[NOTES: I already have the Carver book, but left it at home, and I figured, you can never have too many Carvers running around. Also, well, excited for Woolf, the Moore collection, and I figured I’m gonna give that Graham Greene a try.]

Borrowed books, Red Horse, and Off! lotion. Petra and Manny just saved my life tonight.

9 comments

  1. You have great friends, haha. Enjoy! What are you reading first? :)

    1. I do have great friends, harhar. I brought Written on the Body with me today. I’d only glanced on the first page before I put it down last night, but it looks like a pretty book. :]

  2. Oooh, Petra’s books are wonderful! I loved Wild Women, and Winterson= <3. Am excited for you, tell me what you think about Written on the body, that's my favorite Winterson book. :)

    It is now my fantasy to raid your bookshelf. Methinks I would hyperventilate. :)

    1. Raid away, haha. I actually peeked at Written on the Body before I went to sleep, and her language is spectacular. Only hoping I won’t get overwhelmed, haha. I’m reading it first. Drawn in by “Why is the measure of love loss?” :]

  3. I also check the first few pages of a book before purchasing, if I’m not too familiar with the author. :)
    I think it’s also semi-autobiographical, since Winterson left her gf for her book agent when writing that book.

  4. “i know, right?” xoxo

    1. I KNOW!
      <3

  5. Great bunch of books!! How fun!

    1. Thank you–I have amazing friends. :]

Comments?

