Good Job 2009

These are the books I’m damned glad I read this year. I think. See, I usually keep a file of the books I read for the year, but my evil hard drive ate 2009’s. Which absolutely sucks. Anyway, these are my favorite reads of the past year. Off the top of my head. I mean, if it’s not memorable (in a good way), then it ain’t in aforementioned good way, right? (The links lead you to my thoughts on the book, kidoki?)

Fiction (Novel):

  1. The Post-Birthday World by Lionel Shriver.
  2. Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates.
  3. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.
  4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

Fiction (Short Stories):

  1. No One Belongs Here More Than You by Miranda July.
  2. Self-Help by Lorrie Moore.
  3. Liars in Love by Richard Yates.
  4. Eleven Kinds of Loneliness by Richard Yates.
  5. Stories, by Kerima Polotan.

Nonfiction:

  1. How Fiction Works by James Wood.
  2. The Art of Subtext: Beyond Plot by Charles Baxter.
  3. The Polysyllabic Spree by Nick Hornby.
  4. Housekeeping Vs. The Dirt by Nick Hornby.
  5. Shakespeare Wrote for Money by Nick Hornby.

Poetry:

  1. The Highest Hiding Place by L. Lacambra Ypil.
  2. Let Us Compare Mythologies by Leonard Cohen.

Romance Novels:

  1. His Every Kiss by Laura Lee Guhrke.
  2. Slightly Dangerous by Mary Balogh.
  3. Captive of Sin by Anna Campbell.
  4. Proof by Seduction by Courtney Milan.
  5. Faefever by Karen Marie Moning.

Ta-dah. I have high hopes for 2010. I do, I do, I do. Happy New Year, errybooty!

8 comments

  1. Hi, Sasha!

    That’s a great list! Revolutionary Road is one of my favorites this year too, and Richard Yates is a newly discovered treasure…I’m sorry I won’t be participating in your challenge, but I promise to read some more Yates and follow your progress.

    Happy New Year!!

    1. Thanks, Ivana, and a Happy New Year to you too, :] Challenge or no, please read more Yates, haha–he’s just so amazing, IMO.

  2. Happy New Year! Here’s to a great year filled with goodvibes, great books, much love and great company! :D

    1. You too! Here’s hoping we swap books too, haha. Who knows, maybe something you’re dying to throw out’s something I’ve been lusting over. :)

  3. Nice selection of books … I loved loved loved “The Post-Birthday World.” I think Lionel Shriver is supposed to have a new book out in 2010 too.

    1. Thank you! The Post-Birthday World rocked my world, very very very much so. :)

  4. Interesting list, Sasha. I read One Hundred Years this year as well. I did not love it, so it didn’t go on my “best of 2009” list, but I recognize the greatness. I can be fickle.

    Your others, though, would be new to me. Revolutionary Road is on the long-term TBR, but I am becoming more and more intrigued by The Post-Birthday World. Thanks for pushing that into my consciousness.

    Happy New Year!

    1. Thanks, Kerry. I was caught off-guard by One Hundred Years of Solitude–though I think one of the reasons why it’s at the top of my list is that I can’t believe I actually read it, haha.

      And you’re welcome–Revolutionary Road and The Post-Birthday World both rocked my world, :)

Comments?

