reading challenge || 2010 Bibliophilic Books Challenge

A couple of days ago, a new reading challenge popped up in the intarwebz, and I really really want to join it–it’s the 2010 Bibliophilic Books Challenge. Which is a challenge about reading books about books or reading. Which is timely, but not quite. I’ve been crushing on Nick Hornby (see here, and here), and the challenge basically stands for the current trend in my reading lately–James Wood, Harold Bloom, obscure books about obscure books, yadda yadda. Thing is, will this trend bleed over to the next year? Also, is this a problem? No, not really.

Yes, fine, I’m signing up. Books I’m going to be reading/rereading for the challenge. Or might. Might is a nice verb for challenges:

  1. Every Book Its Reader: The Power of the Printed Word to Stir the World, by Nicholas Basbanes. (To finish.)
  2. The Book That Changed My Life: 71 Remarkable Writers Celebrate the Books that Matter Most to Them, by Roxanne J. Coady, and Joy Johannessen. (To finish.)
  3. Once Again to Zelda: The Stories Behind Literature’s Most Intriguing Dedications, by Marlene Wagman-Geller. (To finish.)
  4. The Man Who Made Lists: Love, Death, Madness, and the Creation of Roget’s Thesaurus, by Joshua Kendall. (To finish.)
  5. How Fiction Works, by James Wood. (To reread. Definitely.)
  6. Novelists and Novels, by Harold Bloom.
  7. Short Story Writers and Short Stories, by Harold Bloom.
  8. The Western Canon, by Harold Bloom.
  9. The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak.
  10. Does The Fiction Class by Susan Breen count?
  11. And more fiction about books. Because I like books and I like fiction and I’m currently doing a little dance to prove this.

But then, of course I’m going to come across other books and all these plans shall go awry. Huh. Yay for Self-referential Dorkiness! [Yay!]

/edited: Removed that ginormous picture that used to intro this post. Thighs freaking me out.

10 comments

  1. This sounds like a great challenge! I’m already signed up for too many though. I loved your little dance.

    1. I’ve only signed up for three — and I think that’s that, haha. :] It was too timely (and coincidental) for me to resist.

  2. […] she loves doing. One of the things that prompted me to write this is actually an entry of hers (this one!), in which she joined a challenge (this one!) to read books about […]

  3. Fun challenge! I guess The Gargoyle would fit as well (and Possession, and In the Shadow of the Wind, and The End of Mr.Y and I got to stop now). Alas, no more challenges for me!

    BTW of you can’t fool us with your “sorry for the man-blabla” because we all know you wanted to show of his smooth skin ;)

    1. I tried reading Possession a couple of weeks ago. It was too dense for me at the time, haha. But I’m sure I’ll try again next year. :]

      Also, well, haha — about that picture — is it obvious that I live in a tropical country? :p

  4. toynbeeconvector · · Reply

    Sasha! you’re my hero!! i tried Possession too but failed miserably because of how dense it was…then i asked Petra to recommend a book and she said I had to read it… :( that’s when my self-esteem went out the window! hahaha! :) Yay for this book blog though!

    1. Oh gosh, Nash, thank you! :] I felt so noble taking it out of the library. And then I sat down with it. Oh no, hahahaha. Maybe some other time. When I’m forty. Or something. :]

      Thanks for dropping by! (How’s you find my hidey-hole?) Hugs, hugs, hugs.

  5. Thanks for joining my challenge! Sounds like you won’t have any problem successfully completing it. :-)

    Possession is one of those books that has sat on my shelf for years and I’ve yet to read it.

    1. Thanks, Lesley, I’m really loving this challenge, and can’t wait for the New Year to start. :]

      Ah, Possession. Darn its existence, haha.

  6. I joined the Bibliophilic Books challenge too. I am excited about it. Here is my sign up post and list of book.

    Your books look great. Happy reading!

Comments?

