sunday salon || The Remains of the RRReadathon

Well. This will be a quick one, because I’m at a friend’s birthday party, haha. So. Anyway. The RRReadathon came to a close two hours ago. And it was met with so much opposition, hahaha. What you’re going to read for a whole day you do realize that’s a dorky thing to do omg are those brownies? But I trudge through. And the reading was punctuated by some Plants vs Zombies, and a stint in the hospital waiting room for a family emergency (where I read).

The schedule and the reading list didn’t go as planned, but, well, I made it. I didn’t read as many books as I would have liked, but I made it. Here are the books I read, in the order I read them:

  1. Doll, by Juniper Bell. It took me less than an hour to read this. My ebook reader told me it was only 76 pages, and that included the preliminary pages and the sneak peeks.
  2. Daughters of the Vicar, by D.H. Lawrence. This was a tactical error. Even though it was a really thin book, it was still D.H. Lawrence. So, boo. Sorry for underestimating you, sir. Good news, I can count this for the GLBT Challenge 2009! :]
  3. No One Belongs Here More Than You, by Miranda July. This was inebriating. Halfway through the collection of stories, I had to take a break. July is a crazy wonderful storyteller and a wicked good prose-ist.
  4. Her Last Death, by Susanna Sonnenberg. A gripping memoir. And yes, I know I sounded like a blurb. The narrator’s mother is such a character. Now I love my own mother more than ever.
  5. Everyman’s Rules for Scientific Living, by Carrie Tiffany. I realize I’d been unfair with this book–I think I was asleep for most of it. I’ll probably read it again. What I remember (awake) seemed okay enough, haha.

I can’t do a coherent-enough wrap-up, haha. Feeling zombified right now. So, yeah. Come back for reviews/thoughts on the books, and what reflections I can give on the RRReadathon. :]

*

So. Since I’m at this birthday party. And this birthday party happens to be in the house of this friend I steal books from. Yay. The books I’m carting off to the car at the night’s end is (if you have any thoughts/comments/impressions on the books listed here, well, feel free to leave them):

  1. Hunger, by Elise Blackwell.
  2. Housekeeping vs. The Dirt, by Nick Hornby.
  3. The Task of This Translator, by Todd Hasak-Lowy.
  4. What Was Lost, by Catherine O’Flynn.
  5. God’s Mountain, by Erri de Luca.
  6. Mr. Lincoln’s Wars, by Adam Braver.
  7. Number 9 Dream, by David Mitchell.
  8. Cubao Midnight Express, by Tony Perez.
  9. Cubao Pagkagat ng Dilim, by Tony Perez.
  10. Eros, Thanatos, Cubao, by Tony Perez.

Yeah. Ladies and gentlemen, my TBR Land Mass is cackling as we speak. Cripes. Everyone have a great week. :)

UPDATE: I’m featured at Amy’s Spread the Love Sunday over at My Overstuffed Bookshelf! Take a look.

7 comments

  1. Well, it’s nice to see that at least someone got some great reading done! :) You did a great job. And, I’ve been coveting that July book for a whole. Glad you liked it.

    1. Hi! Me too, I’ve lusted over July for months–and then my grandfather sent it to me from the US. She was awesome. :)

  2. Eek, hope the family emergency was no biggie? How could you READ in the waiting room among the moans and blood of waiting patients anyway LOL

    Glad to hear you’ve had a nice weekend. And I’ll be waiting for your review of Number9dream :)

    1. There was some alarm, so we went to the hospital for tests. It was my boyfriend’s sister actually, but we’re waiting for results. Keeping our fingers crossed that it’s nothing serious!

      And I read about five pages before I gave up and just paced. :]

  3. Wow you did a great job even though you had some hurdles.

    1. Thanks, Ash. It got difficult at some points. But I’ve always been a fast reader, plus reading really made those hurdles bearable. Times like those when I’m really thankful that I have the love of books. :]

  4. Do *did* read quite a bit in a weekend like that! And your interview was awesome! So liked reading it :-)
    Oh how I love browsing through people’s bookshelves lol.
    But… I know, I still feel blury as well, even after a good nights sleep! We will catch up later I guess!
    have a good week you too!

Comments?

