reading challenge || The GLBT Challenge 2010

Welcome to the GLBT Challenge 2010! The Challenge that Dare Not Speak its Name. Rules/Guidelines: The basic idea of this challenge is to read books about GLBT topics and/or by GLBT authors.The challenge runs year-round, and there will be three levels of participation — Lambda Level: Read 4 books. Pink Triangle Level: Read 8 books. Rainbow Level: Read 12 or more books. You don’t need to choose your books right away, and they can change at any time. Overlaps with other challenges are fine.

*

I’m aiming for the Pink Triangle Level, but, well, 2010 has a lot of days in it, and a lot of opportunities to pick up books–I might just go for Rainbow Level. Who knows? I mean, I don’t even know what books I’m reading yet, except, maybe, for:

  1. Name All the Animals, a memoir by Alison Smith.
  2. Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit, by Jeanette Winterson, or maybe something else by her?
  3. To The Lighthouse, by Virginia Woolf. {and/or:}
  4. A Room Of One’s Own, by Virginia Woolf.
  5. The Hours, by Michael Cunningham.

Aaaaand I’m stumped. Would dearly appreciate it if you guys gave me some recs. :) [And drat, I can’t put Middlesex since I’ve read it about four times now. Augh.] A little help would be wunnerful. :)

*

UPDATELIST:
  • And maybe Crush, poems by Richard Siken. I swear I’ll really read it, and not just highlight lines that make me want to wail.
  • Garbo: Her Story, by Antoni Grobowicz. Because I’m crazy about Garbo. And this is the only book on Garbo that’s available in the university library.
  • I might read Mrs. Dalloway, by Virginia Woolf.
  • I’m trying to look for copies of Alex Beecroft‘s novels–I’ve never actually encountered her before–as recommended by Courtney Milan.

*

UPDATE/HELP: I need recommendations of books by/about bisexual women. Please and thank you.

12 comments

  1. Ooh, I wanna do it! Especially now that Freaking Bookworm is (almost) done.

    1. DOITDOITDOIT. :D

  2. Awesome! Thanks for joining us! If you look at the homepage of the challenge, there is a page for resources which has a bunch of links to GLBT-reading lists. We also plan to do a mini-tour for more resources by genre in early December.

    1. Hi, Amanda. :) I’ve actually been browsing through the resources, and listing stuff down. Some of the titles and authors, I haven’t encountered–but I guess that’s one of the nice things about readign challenges. :)

      Thank you for this. It’s a challenge that’s close to my heart. :}

  3. I didn’t know Virginia Woolf was gay. I really like this challenge, and I love the title of it. :-) I’ll be signing up soon.

    1. I had no idea she was gay either. :) I only learned when everyone was putting her name on their lists, and I did a little Googling, and ta-da! :)

      Are you signing up for what’s left of this year? Or for 2010?

  4. I might sign up! I want to reach the rainbow level, haha. Anyway, here are some LGBT books you might want to try:

    Books by Sarah Waters- I personally love Tipping the Velvet and Fingersmith

    Books by Jeanette Winterson- My fave would have to be Written on the body, and there’s a bisexual angle there too!

    How about graphic novels/comics? Anything by Alison Bechdel, (Dykes to watch out for) or Ariel Schrag.

    For the ya genre, I like Keeping you a secret by Julie Ann Peters. She also wrote a lesbian anthology for teens, if you’re more into that sort of thing.

    There’s this anthology of essays about coming out that I love entitled “A Woman Like You”, which I LOVED. It made me have a crush on Leslea Newman, among others.

    Am excited about this challenge. :) Good luck!

    1. Thank you! I’ve read a lot of Jeanette Winterson, plus I’ve been hearing a lot about Sarah Waters. So yeah, Sarah Waters is definitely on my list!

      A request? If you have any recommendations of books by/about bisexual women, please let me know? Thanks!

  5. I was able to buy this from Booksale, the protagonist is bi, so you might want to look for it:
    http://www.amazon.com/THEY-CALL-ME-MAD-DOG/dp/0684849429
    Sarah Waters = <3 Especially if you love Victorian romps :)

    1. Oh Booksale. :) I banned myself from Booksale kasi it was just too much for me, hahaha. I’ll try to look for this. Thanks! :)

  6. Winterson has been on my radar. Adding her to my list.

  7. If you like YA, Parrotfish by Ellen Wittlinger has a loveable trans character. My debut YA novel, My Invented Life, has several bi characters.

Comments?

