reading challenge || Awesome Authors Challenge 2010

What I like about reading challenges is that there’s just so much goddarned peer pressure to let you wade chip a little off that TBR Land Mass. So. For 2010, I’ve signed up for two! [And I might just cheat and read some of the listed books before the new year. I am honorable like that, yes.]

AwesomeAuthorButton (1)Here’s Awesome Author Challenge, brought to us by Alyce over at At Home With Books. To quote: “The idea behind this challenge is to read works by authors who have been recommended to you time and again, yet somehow you haven’t managed to read any books by those authors. These are the authors that everyone else tells you are awesome, thus the Awesome Author Challenge title.”

The Rules: [1] The challenge starts January 1, 2010 and ends December 31, 2010. [2] Crossover from other challenges is allowed. [3] Choose the level at which you would like to participate, post about it and come back and leave a link to your post in Mister Linky. [4] Titles and authors do not have to be predetermined, and can change at any time. [5] Books can come from any genre or reading level, the only requirement is that you have heard great things about the author, but haven’t yet read any of their works.

The Levels: Easy: Choose three authors and read at least one title from each author. Moderate: Choose six authors and read at least one title from each author. Challenging: Choose ten authors and read at least one title from each author. Over-Achieving: Anything over ten authors.

And here is my list, peoplez.

PRIDEANDPREJUDICE

  1. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice. Because, hit me with a frisbee but I could not finish that book. Mr. Darcy annoyed me to bits. I’ll read this. I swear. Mostly because the new Penguin Classics Edition has cover art by Ruben Toledo and ain’t it purdy?
  2. Erica Jong, Fear of Flying. Because I like shmexy books.
  3. Jon McGregor, If No One Speaks of Remarkable Things. Because this has been on my TBR Land Mass for quite a while now, and I borrowed it from a friend and I’m feeling very guilty.
  4. Markus Zusak, The Book Thief. I have not read this, and please don’t hit me. It’s collecting dust.
  5. Ian McEwan, Atonement. A mainstay at my TBR Land Mass. Again, DON’T HIT ME.
  6. Haruki Murakami, Anything by the dude because I just can’t stand him for some reason.

*

UPDATE01: Here are some authors I suppose I’ll be reading, either because they’re part of another challenge, or because I’ve been seeing them everywhere it’s driving me crazy: Virginia Woolf, Sarah Waters, Wilkie Collins, Jonathan Safran Foer, Zadie Smith. And I’ve always wanted to read Madame Bovary, by Gustave Flaubert.

UPDATE02: I’ve always wanted to read Julio Cortazar. So there.

8 comments

  1. This sounds awesome! I just might jump into it. Also with P&P.

    Oh, and just because: READ THE BOOK THIEF. It is amazing. I love it so much.

    1. The Book Thief has been on my bookshelf since forever, Ca. Guh. I even tried to sell it kasi I was feeling so guilty that it’s been so ignored. :p

      And, again — I’m only reading P&P because of that purdy book cover. :)

  2. I still haven’t read The Book Thief either. Good luck with the challenge!

    1. Thanks for the challenge, Alyce. :)

  3. To be honest, I can’t quite stand Murakami either. His stories are too open-ended for me. I thought it was just one book, but so far all his novels and stories end with me all puzzled. But maybe that’s the point. Anyway, you might want to start with Norwegian Wood. That’s his most coherent book for me. Haha. :)

    1. Oof, I tried Norwegian Wood. I borrowed it from a friend two years ago, and after all this time, I haven’t made it past the second page. :(

  4. Aw.. I absolutely LOVE Haruki Murakami. =) But I guess each to his/her own, ae?

    I’ve just only finished The Book Thief. I’d say: Read it. (And I don’t usually recommend books to people, seeing as how different people have different tastes..)

    And oh, Pride and Prejudice never looked more tempting. That’s a really really lovely cover.

    1. Haha, that’s why I’ve signed up for this challenge! :) Who knows, I might actually like Murakami? :) With The Book Thief, I know I’m going to like it–I just keep postponing it, haha.

      And yes, that cover is my main reason why I’m finally reading Austen! :)

      Thanks for dropping by, Michelle. :)

Comments?

