book dump || Enabling for Book Hoarders

National Bookstore is holding a summer sale until the 5th of May, which means I’ve still got a handful of days to grit and bear. Every day has been a test of character, more than the usual. I’ve been amassing books as it is. For the past week, I’ve gone to three branches, some repeatedly. There must be a special place in Literary Appreciationists / Hedonists Heaven for me. There better be.

So. Here is the loot, which is a fraction of the total since I last posted a Book Dump. I don’t think I can post that total at all. In some cultures, this may be regarded as shame.

Books I’ve been eyeing for quite some time now:

  • Delta of Venus by Anaïs Nin;
  • Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys: I have read the first part of this book before, but I was so outraged by this proposed prequel that I have lost the book, and so here is a new copy to gleefully hate;
  • The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath: I’ve wanted to read this for a long time [which says a lot about my emotional and mental health, no?] and I really like this edition;
  • The Road by Vasily Grossman;
  • Toxicology by Jessica Hagedorn;
  • The Girl on the Landing by Paul Torday.

Not my usual fare, but why not?

  • Trying out a new publisher from an author I’ve read once or twice before: The Kept Woman by Susan Donovan
  • When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
  • Flipped by Wendelin van Draanen
  • Jane by April Lidner: I will read this pretty much with the same guardedness I’m reading the Rhys, haha—am fiercely protective of Brontë’s Jane Eyre, obviously.

It seems that once I had my blissful reunion with romances, there’s no end in sight. Love it.

  • From familiar and loved authors: When Beauty Tamed the Beast by Eloisa James, and Treasure of the Sun by Christina Dodd
  • Old anthologies of erotic novellas: Playing Easy to Get, with works by Sherrilyn Kenyon, Jaid Black, and Kresley Cole; and Tie Me Up, Tie Me Down, with works by Sherrilyn Kenyon, Melanie George, and Jaid Black—I’ve actually read these before, in e-book format, but I want to relive the experience in the dead-tree format.

I’ve been looking for you everywhere, dammit.

  • Hotel Iris by Yoko Ogawa
  • 36 Arguments for the Existence of God: A Work of Fiction by Rebecca Newberger Goldstein
  • The Summer Without Men by Siri Hustvedt
  • The Uses of Enchantment: The Meaning and Importance of Fairy Tales by Bruno Bettelheim
  • Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson;
  • Skippy Dies by Paul Murray.

* * *

Who’s going hungry in the next couple weeks? Who, who, who? You are, oh yes you are, yes yes. Shoot me and my still-encased-in-plastic books. Hurhur. [Oh god, there’s still more than three-and-a-half days to go.]

12 comments

  1. You got some great loot! I really didn’t like Wide Sargasso Sea but I think my biggest issue with it was that it was considered a prequel. Had it been a stand alone book, I would have enjoyed it a lot more.

  2. Nice to see someone else going crazy with book-buying. Ha ha, we are not alone!

  3. I have a new bunch of loot that I also need to post… book buying ban 2011 complete fail!

    I read The Bell Jar back in highschool and really liked it. I’ve been wanting to reread it now that I’m no longer pubescent, but I have no idea when that will happen.

    I just posted a review of the new Hustvedt on my blog today! It’s the first book by her that I’ve read so I have no baseline, but I loved it a lot. Really impressed by her and must read more by her soon.

    Jealous of your Skippy Dies… I’ve been wanting to read that one for aaaaaages.

    Finally, do all books in the Philippines come shrink-wrapped? How odd!

  4. Your stack looks amazing! I hope you read When You Reach Me first. It’s a great book.

  5. I’m being very good and not buying many books at the moment. My TBR pile has reached critical status! Anyhow, I can’t bring myself to read any prequels or sequels of Jany Eyre, or Austens’ novels. However, Rhys’ book is the exception. I think it is a wonderful post-colonial take on Bronte’s novel. I think the Brontes’ and Austen’s novels are worth deconstructing, to see what isn’t being said and what is being implied. So, yeah, I think Rhys is worth reading.

  6. I love that you own Wide Sargasso Sea just so you can hate it! ;) Here’s my own protective ode to Jane Eyre: http://bookreadingbookworm.blogspot.com/2010/10/and-ode-to-jane-eyre-or-i-discuss-jane.html

  7. I’ve read a few of these, Hotel Iris was very interesting (and disturbing) and I will be very curious to see your thoughts on it. Major Pettigrew makes me so happy, such a wonderful cheerful novel, I love the sheer Britishness of it. Overall, great batch of books! I was missing your book dump posts, you should definitely do another one with the books you didn’t include :)

  8. I admit, much as I love Jane Eyre, I’m very intrigued by the spin offs. I’ve never cared the slightest for the Jane Austen spin offs, but the Jane Eyre ones intrigue me.

    1. I know! I have to tell myself it’s a bad idea to even consider buying Jane Slayre, hahaha. Spin-offs are cool, I hate the rewriting though — Rochester is sacred. I see Jean Rhys as a threat, haha.

  9. Great book loot. I’ve been going slightly overboard too since Borders are closing all around and slashing prices. They’ve bought out some decent stock which I suppose have been hiding in the backroom. I also nabbed the same copy of Wide Sargasso Sea today. :-) Sooo happy!

    1. Is it so bad of me to feel envy at the windfall to book buyers with Borders’ closing? [Yes, I guess so.] So many books, so many opportunities for loss of self-control, nomnomnom.

  10. I love your book dump posts :D More more!

Comments?

