book dump || All Set for the New Year

Something tells me my conscience will simply not allow that I even think of acquiring more books. Huh. Too bad I am bigger and stronger than Jiminy Cricket. MmmmBooks.


The books above, from my Aunts Anne and Bong. You crazy women, you enablers, you. I love you guys, ya know that?

  • Someone at a Distance, by Dorothy Whipple.
  • The Shell Collector, by Anthony Doerr.
  • One Day, by David Nicholls.
  • How to Paint a Dead Man, by Sarah Hall.
  • A Tragic Honesty: The Life and Work of Richard Yates, by Blake Bailey.
  • The Collected Stories of Amy Hempel.
  • Invisible, by Paul Auster.
  • Freedom, by Jonathan Franzen.

Equal parts bought, borrowed, and dropped to my hands and knees to spelunk for. Danielewski and du Maurier and Anderson and Fitzgerald and Hazzard for less than fifty bucks [a dollar] each!

  • Why We Fight; Why Our Decisions Don’t Matter; and Why We Need Love, series edited by Simon Van Booy.
  • Then We Came to the End, by Joshua Ferris.
  • The Bookshop, by Penelope Fitzgerald.
  • Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier.
  • The Great Fire, by Shirley Hazzard.
  • Speak, by Laurie Halse Anderson.
  • Only Revolutions, by Mark Z. Danielewski.

More books that I panic-bought for myself before Christmas. I had to, ok?

  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s, by Truman Capote.
  • Mourning Diary, by Roland Barthes.
  • Never Let Me Go, by Kazuo Ishiguro.
  • World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War, by Max Brooks.
  • The World According to Raymundo Mata, by Gina Apostol.
  • The Appointment, by Herta Müller.
  • Raymond Carver: A Writer’s Life, by Carol Sklenicka.
  • An Object of Beauty, by Steve Martin.
  • A History of Reading, by Alberto Manguel.

I must insist that this does not make me a bad person. It makes me a prepared, and off-puttingly excited, one. Yes, that. Tada. Who has read what, and if it was not an enjoyable experience, please do not make me regret all this, haha. Happy week ahead!

16 comments

  1. Ohmygosh. Never Let Me Go. Whoa.

  2. Oh. My heart has just broke a bit.

  3. oh so many lovely books. Speak and Breakfast at Tiffanys the only ones I’ve actually read and they are both great but I do also own copies of The Appointment and How to Paint a Dead Man which I’ll hopefully get a chance to read this year!

  4. I am so going to use the “I’m prepared” after a book splurge. I love it. Hahaha.

    And I just finished Rebecca. Wow.

  5. What a fantastic bunch of books! Don’t feel badly, enjoy. :) I have Someone at a Distance in my pile too and I can’t wait to get to it.

  6. I am so eager to read the Manguel! Rebecca is amazing, and I really enjoyed The Bookshop on audio a few years ago. World War Z is kind of fun, too–very different from what I normally read.

  7. What an awesome haul! You picked up a few titles that I really love – namely the Ferris and the Fizgerald. Both are heartbreaking but amazing! And you know that I recently raved about An Object of Beauty, which I’ll be really interested to hear your thoughts on!

    Enjoy all your lovelies!

  8. I LOVED Then We Came to the End, and also Never Let Me Go and Rebecca. The Bookshop not so much, but I think that might be my problem, and not the book’s.

  9. Looks like a great haul! I adored Breakfast at Tiffany’s, and Rebecca is great fun! I haven’t read that Auster, but I love him so it’s probably good. I’m not a fan of Never Let Me Go, but I think I just don’t get along well with Ishiguro.

    I’m jealous of that Yates bio, I’ve wanted to read it for years.

    Oh and I’d like to join you with reading NYRB Classics, if you’ll have me! I have a nice tall pile I’ve been (somewhat guiltily) accumulating..

  10. All these books made my breath catch :D I luuurv book piles.

  11. Great, great, great selections! I have already prepared One Day and Never Let Me Go to be devoured on the Love Month. I have read Breakfast at Tiffany’s, different from the movie but still cute, nonetheless. Like you, I also have a towering pile of unread books. Makes me guilty at times, but shyet sila! Walang pakialamanan ng trip! Haha.

    BTW, I also have Janet Hobhouse’s The Furies. I got it for only Php99! :) I’m saving up my NYRBs for probably the second half of the year. I’d love to know your thoughts on The Furies.

    Seems like it would be an interesting reading year for all of us. Happy Reading! :)

  12. There are so many exciting books here. Freedom! World War Z! And all the other ones that look beautiful that I haven’t read yet.

  13. Great haul. Of the ones I haven’t read yet, I want to. Namely Never Let Me Go and Invisible. Look forward to your reviews!

  14. I do not own any of the books you bought. But I want most of them! I really like your idea of being prepared, haha, that makes a great excuse to buy more books, always.

  15. I love love love your pictures of stack so books. Nothing else is so inspiring to me. Don’t feel bad! They’re beautiful and comforting and contain great knowledge. And most of them were super cheap. Own it!

  16. I love leaving the library or the post office with a huge stack of books! Best feeling in the world. You have a great blog!

Comments?

