book dump || No, I’m Not Hoarding

Or maybe I am. I won’t bore you [too much] with the whole sad, sorry tale. What matters is I have more books. Never mind that I’ve taken to smuggling them into the apartment since technically, our stuff’s in lockdown given the impending move. Oops. Oh well.

So. Some books I bought near the start of last month:

  • Flowers in the Storm, by Laura Kinsale.
  • Apology for Idlers, by Robert Louis Stevenson.
  • On Solitude, by Michel de Montaigne.
  • Too Much Happiness, by Alice Munro.
  • House of Leaves, by Mark Z. Danielewski.

And, up thar, the books I borrowed from three different people. Come on, applaud me for my restraint.

  • The Hopes of Snakes, by Lisa Couturier.
  • The Ministry of Special Cases, by Nathan Englander.
  • Siste Viator, by Sarah Manguso.
  • Elsewhere Held and Lingered, by Conchitina Cruz.

And then, most recently, after a Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt 01 viewing with fellow dorks [we all bawled, no worries], the books spelunked and unearthed from two different bookstores:

  • The Complete Fairy Tales, by Charles Perrault.
  • The Wordy Shipmates, by Sarah Vowell.
  • The Crimson Petal and the White, by Michel Faber.
  • Proof by Seduction¸ by Courtney Milan.

Must. Not. Feel. Guilty. Then again, I keep telling myself not to buy any more books — to not even dare enter that bookstore, dammit, and stop kidding yourself that you’d only look and stay for five minutes, Sasha!

But, meh. I feel good. I feel powerful, hahaha. And after the emotional annihilation HP wrought in me, I need this therapy.

7 comments

  1. You go girl! The more books, the merrier.

  2. I wholeheartedly agree with Justine :)

  3. Haha oh dear, you were one of those bawlers at HP? I may or may not have giggled at them….

  4. Ha, don’t feel too bad about the book splurge – on our recent trip to San Francisco, I actually had to stop at a post office so I could mail all of my purchases home after a stop at Green Apple books. I think that probably constitutes a new book buying low (and high! ;) ) for me…

    Also, I didn’t cry at HP7v1 but I got desperately close at times. I will say that I bawled through the entire first film the first 2 or 3 times I saw it (and wound up seeing it like 8 times in the theater or something equally obsessive).

  5. Sounds like a party at your house! I really love the spine of the Englander book. And I am totally ogling your Perrault…

  6. As far as romance novels go I thought Proof by Seduction was pretty wonderful. Must say.

  7. I love all of you, my darling enablers, hahaha. And yes, Kari, shamelessly: I bawled and shook and cried during HP7, hahaha.

Comments?

