Short Fiction Weekend

I like bibliophilically attacking the weekends. I mean, although I make certain to have time to read during the workdays [train, long lunch breaks, when boss isn't looking, haha], there’s just something free and home about being collapsed on the bed for hours at a time, just reading and not caring. So: Add to the pile on the floor beside the bed, glare at the world to leave me alone, and read. This weekend, in keeping with my harebrained idea to go mostly-short-fiction this month and after, I chilled with three collections and a novella, which were in different states of Currently Reading. Mmmm.

I finished two collections this weekend – Samuel Johnson is Indignant by Lydia Davis [the third in her Collected Stories] and Dimanche and Other Stories by Irène Némirovsky. It’s love. I reached an epiphany of sorts re Davis; reading Némirovsky’s short fiction reminded me how she can be both lovely and ruthless at the same time. Ah.

What I started this weekend: Portrait of the Mother as a Young Woman by Friedrich Christian Delius and The New York Stories of Elizabeth Hardwick. I picked up Delius earlier this week, but I knew a 117-page sentence deserves my complete attention. Also, I’ve read only two stories so far in the Hardwick collection, but man, where has she been all my life? I’m in love. For seriously.

Ah, work tomorrow. Ah, bag ready to smuggle in some Hardwick. Ah, long weekend a-coming. Orayt.

/ confetti

7 comments

  1. Curious to see what you think of Davis! I ordered her collected works after going halfway through Varieties of Disturbance before the library due date- but she was hit or miss for me. The collection was just such a good deal and Varieties was the only library book by her so I decided to order it.

    1. That’s part the epiphany-of-sorts I had with Davis: She’ll always be hit or miss. But the hits almost always make up for the collective misses, at least they do for me. But her Collected Stories is a good addition to any personal library — but it was trial-and-error for me to figure out how to read her.

  2. Where do you usually buy your books? O:

    1. National Bookstore and Fully Booked, if I have money for brand new, need-to-have books. But usually, BookSale and the odd bargain bin. And Book Depository, because it’s crazy that they have free shipping to here. :]

      1. Amazing. Thanks for the reply!

  3. although I make certain to have time to read during the workdays [train, long lunch breaks, when boss isn't looking, haha], there’s just something free and home about being collapsed on the bed for hours at a time, just reading and not caring.
    I can’t agree more. Uninterrupted reading is awesome.

    1. Uninterrupted reading on a bed is awesomest. Augh. I write this parked on my office chair.

Comments?

